Search Entire Site

Sign up here for the Code Red Emergency Warning System for Bourbon County

January 5, 2021 Election Results (unofficial) can be viewed here.

For the 2021 City of Fort Scott Ordinance No. 31 Special Election, the random selection of precincts to be audited will take place on Thursday, January 7th at 3:00 pm in the Bourbon County Commission room, 210 S. National, Fort Scott, KS 66701. The audit will be on Monday, January 11th, 2021 at 9:00 am in the Bourbon County Commission room.

City of Fort Scott – Special Election

Advance voting at the Courthouse begins Monday, December 28, 2020.

Hours are Monday – Thursday 8:30 am – 4:30 pm

Advance voting ends at noon on January 4th, 2021.


Community Christian Church and Grace Baptist will be open for voting on January 5th, 2021 from 7:00 am – 7:00 pm.

Remember to bring your photo id with you to vote.





JANUARY 5, 2021


State of Kansas

County of Bourbon


In compliance with K.S.A. 25-105, and the Election Laws of the State of Kansas, I submit herewith the question to be voted on at the Special Election to be held on Tuesday, January 5th, 2021.


And, I hereby give further notice that the election will be held in the voting places listed below in Bourbon County, Kansas, and that the polls will be opened and closed at the regular time specified by law for the conduct of elections.  The polling places will open at 7:00 am and will close at 7:00 pm.  Only voters that reside in the City limits of Fort Scott, Kansas will vote at this Special Election.


Residents living in the City of Fort Scott vote at the following locations:

1st Ward       Community Christian Church – 1919 S Horton, Fort Scott

2nd Ward       Grace Baptist Church – 502 S Margrave, Fort Scott                    

3rd Ward       Grace Baptist Church – 502 S Margrave, Fort Scott

4th Ward       Community Christian Church – 1919 S Horton, Fort Scott                                

5th Ward       Community Christian Church – 1919 S Horton, Fort Scott                                

6th Ward       Community Christian Church – 1919 S Horton, Fort Scott                                

7th Ward       Grace Baptist Church – 502 S Margrave, Fort Scott




Vote YES or NO



                                                                           Kendell Mason, County Clerk &

                                                                           Bourbon County Election Officer




In compliance with the provisions of K.S.A. 25-2310, notice is hereby given that the books for registration of voters will be open at the following places during regular business hours:


County Clerk’s Office-Courthouse

8:30 am – 4:30 pm

City Clerk-Fort Scott City Hall

8:00 am – 5:00 pm

City Clerk-Uniontown City Hall

8:00 am – 11:00 am

City Clerk-Bronson City Hall

8:00 am – 11:00 am


Persons who apply for services at registration agencies may register to vote at the following places during regular business hours:


Department of Motor Vehicles-108 W. 2nd Fort Scott, KS

Department of Social & Rehabilitation Services


At 4:30 pm on December 15th, 2020 the books for new registrations will close and remain closed until after the election.


A citizen of the United States who is 18 years of age or older, or will have attained the age of 18 years at the next election, must register before he or she can vote. Registration is open until the close of business on the 20th day before the election.


When a voter has been registered according to law, the voter shall remain registered until the voter changes name by marriage, divorce or other legal proceedings or changes residence.


The voter may re-register in person, by mail or other delivery when registration is open. Application forms shall be provided by the county election officer or the Secretary of State upon request. The application shall be signed by the applicant under penalty of perjury.


Kansas voters must show an acceptable form of a photo ID when casting their vote.


Per KSA 25-4610, voting machines will be tested on December 31st, 2020 at 2:00 pm at the Bourbon County Courthouse.


The Board of County Canvassers will meet at 10:00 am on January 14th, 2021 to finalize the election results; those persons who were required to vote a provisional ballot due to lack of acceptable ID, will have until 10:00 am on January 14th, 2021 to provide acceptable ID to the County Clerk’s office for ballot determination.


/s/ Kendell Mason

Bourbon County Election Officer


Not sure if you’re registered to vote or where to vote?

You may register to vote online, through the Kansas Secretary of State’s website.


Check your voter registration status, the location of your polling place and view a sample ballot at VoterView by the Secretary of State.


The County Clerk is elected in November of Presidential Election years to a term of four years.  There are no term limits to this elected office.


The Bourbon County Clerk/Election Officer is responsible for a wide range of things under Kansas Law.  Some of those are listed here.


Advance Voting is available prior to each election.  You may advance vote in one of two ways:  By mail, by filing an application for a ballot to be mailed to you   OR   in-person, beginning at least one week prior to any election.


Bourbon County Clerk Duties:

  • Serves as Secretary to the Board of County Commissioners; attends Commission meetings; prepares and posts agendas and keeps meeting minutes; maintains proceedings of Commission meetings, including all contracts and agreements entered into by the County.
  • Prepares annual budgets for most townships and fire districts and all cemeteries, watersheds and light districts in the County.
  • Receives and compiles all budgets submitted by County entities, cities, townships, the community college, school districts, and all special districts. 
  • Compiles, calculates, and prepares tax levies.2002200320042005200620072008200920102011
  • Prepares real estate, personal property, and state assessed tax roll, including special assessments, and certifies to County Treasurer.
  • Accumulates and files a bonded indebtedness report for all taxing entities in the County. 
  • Carries out all elections and certifies to the Secretary of State; maintains voter database; accepts filings for public office; keeps financial statements of expenses from county, city, school district candidates. 
  • Provides Accounts Payable and Payroll functions for all County departments; receives all claims filed against the County. 
  • Provides checks and balance to property transfers, motor vehicle collections and Treasurer’s daily ledger activities.
  • Serves as the County Freedom of Information Officer. 
  • Maintains fixed asset inventory for the County.
  • Provides assistance to County residents in preparing Homestead Property Tax Refund  and Food Sales Tax Applications for the Kansas Department of Revenue
  • Issues Cereal Malt Beverage Licenses to establishments outside the city limits and issues Firework Permits to stands throughout the County for 4th of July week. 
  • Issues Kansas Wildlife and Park permits.