Welcome to Bourbon County

Bourbon County, Kansas, was one of the thirty-three original counties of Kansas created by the first Territorial Assembly of 1855.  The area containing the present Bourbon County was part of the Louisiana Purchase of 1803.

Bourbon County is full of rich history, dating back to the Civil War. Our county seat, Fort Scott, is home to the 1842 Fort Scott National Historic Site, as well as National Cemetery No. 1, and beautiful mansions.

Information Center

Sign up here for the Code Red Emergency Warning System for Bourbon County

News and Announcements