banner district clerk







 Bourbon County Clerk

Kendell Mason

210 S National Ave

Fort Scott, KS 66701


This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.




2018 Primary Election Information


A Primary Election will be held Tuesday, August 7th, 2018

   Candidate Filing Deadline is Noon, Friday, June 1st, 2018

Candidates for the following offices will be nominated by each
political party which has qualified to participate
in the Primary Election:


One Candidate for U.S. Representative, 2nd District

One pair of Candidates for Governor/Lt. Governor

One Candidate for Secretary of State

One Candidate for Attorney General

One Candidate for State Treasurer

One Candidate for Commissioner of Insurance

One Candidate for State Senator, District 13 (for the remainder of the Unexpired Term)

One Candidate for State Representative, 2nd District

One Candidate for State Representative, 4th District

One Candidate for Member, State Board of Education, 9th District

One Candidate for County Attorney (for the remainder of the unexpired term)

One Candidate for County Treasurer (for the remainder of the unexpired term)

One Candidate for County Commissioner, 1st District

One Candidate for Township Clerk of Drywood Township

One Candidate for Township Clerk of Franklin Township

One Candidate for Township Clerk of Freedom Township

One Candidate for Township Clerk of Marion Township

One Candidate for Township Clerk of Marmaton Township

One Candidate for Township Clerk of Millcreek Township

One Candidate for Township Clerk of Osage Township

One Candidate for Township Clerk of Pawnee Township

One Candidate for Township Clerk of Scott Township

One Candidate for Township Clerk of Timberhill Township

One Candidate for Township Clerk of Walnut Township

The following officers will be elected in each political party which has qualified to
participate in the Primary Election:

One Precinct Committeeman in each Precinct

One Precinct Committeewoman in each Precinct

I, Kendell Mason, County Clerk/County Election Officer of Bourbon County, Kansas, do hereby
certify that the above offices will be voted on in the Primary Election,
Tuesday August 7th, 2018.

Kendell Mason,

Bourbon County
Election Officer


  All of the polling places will be open on Election Day from 7:00 am – 7:00 pm.  The polling places in Bourbon County are as follows:



                         1st Ward                  Community Christian Church

                         2nd Ward                 Grace Baptist Church

                         3rd Ward                 Grace Baptist Church

                         4th Ward                  Community Christian Church

                         5th Ward                  Community Christian Church

                         6th Ward                  Community Christian Church

                         7th Ward                  Grace Baptist Church


                         DRYWOOD               Grace Baptist Church

                         FRANKLIN               Mapleton Community Bldg

                         FREEDOM                Fulton Community Bldg

                         EAST MARION          Uniontown City Hall

                         WEST MARION         Bronson Community Bldg

                         MARMATON             Redfield City Hall

                         MILLCREEK              Redfield City Hall

                      OSAGE                   Fulton Community Bldg

                         PAWNEE                  Redfield City Hall

                         NORTH SCOTT        Community Christian Church

                         SOUTH SCOTT         Grace Baptist Church

                         TIMBERHILL             Mapleton Community Bldg

                         WALNUT                 Uniontown City Hall










Not sure if you're registered to vote or where to vote?
Effective July 28, 2009, you may register to vote online, through the Kansas Secretary of State's website.
Check your voter registration status, the location of your polling place and view a sample ballot at VoterView by the Secretary of State.
The County Clerk is elected in November of Presidential Election years to a term of four years.  There are no term limits to this elected office.
The Bourbon County Clerk/Election Officer is responsible for a wide range of things under Kansas Law.  Some of those are listed here.

Advance Voting is available prior to each election.  You may advance vote in one of two ways:  By mail, by filing an application for a ballot to be mailed to you   OR   in-person, beginning at least one week prior to any election.




This notice covers persons who have applied to register to vote and have not yet provided proof of

citizenship. Due to recent court rulings, if you have applied to register to vote at a Kansas Division of

Motor Vehicles office or if you have applied to register to vote using the “Federal Form” voter

registration application (as opposed to the standard ‘state form’) and have not yet provided proof of

citizenship, you are registered to vote unless you receive official notice stating otherwise. Your

name will appear on the poll book for your voting location and you will be given a standard ballot.

There is nothing further you need to provide unless and until you receive further notice.

If you have questions concerning your eligibility or this notice you may contact your local county

election office or the Secretary of State’s office at (800) 262-8683.




Bourbon County Clerk Duties:
Serves as Secretary to the Board of County Commissioners; attends Commission meetings; prepares and posts agendas and keeps meeting minutes; maintains proceedings of Commission meetings, including all contracts and agreements entered into by the County.
Prepares annual budgets for most townships and fire districts and all cemeteries, watersheds and light districts in the County.
Receives and compiles all budgets submitted by County entities, cities, townships, the community college, school districts, and all special districts. 
Compiles, calculates, and prepares tax levies.   2002200320042005200620072008200920102011
Prepares real estate, personal property, and state assessed tax roll, including special assessments, and certifies to County Treasurer.
Accumulates and files a bonded indebtedness report for all taxing entities in the County. 
Carries out all elections and certifies to the Secretary of State; maintains voter database; accepts filings for public office; keeps financial statements of expenses from county, city, school district candidates. 
Provides Accounts Payable and Payroll functions for all County departments; receives all claims filed against the County. 
Provides checks and balance to property transfers, motor vehicle collections and Treasurer's daily ledger activities.
Serves as the County Freedom of Information Officer. 
Maintains fixed asset inventory for the County.
Provides assistance to County residents in preparing Homestead Property Tax Refund  and Food Sales Tax Applications for the Kansas Department of Revenue
Issues Cereal Malt Beverage Licenses to establishments outside the city limits and issues Firework Permits to stands throughout the County for 4th of July week. 
Issues Kansas Wildlife and Park permits.